07 October 2016: Abingdon, UK – OBN Ltd, the membership organisation supporting the UK’s innovative life sciences companies, are delighted to announce the winners of the prestigious OBN Awards 2016 that were presented last night in front of a sold-out audience of over 250 leaders from Biotech, Medtech and Investment companies at the Town Hall in Oxford.

The Awards, which are in their 8th year, celebrate the best of UK life sciences - outstanding innovation, fundraisers and achievements - underlining the pre-eminence of the UK sector in the global marketplace.

John Harris, CEO of OBN, said: “We are thrilled with the high quality of nominees this year which made picking just one winner in each category very difficult.   We work hard to keep the awards fresh and have introduced several new categories this year to reflect industry trends. The turn-out and support we’ve received is a true reflection of how buoyant our industry is and I would like to thank our sponsors for helping us make the OBN Awards the success it is today.”

The winners are: Best Start-up Biotech Company Award, Sponsored by Penningtons Manches Winner:

OxStem - for its disruptive approach to the field of regenerative medicine


Best Emerging Biotech Company Award, Sponsored by Covance Winner:

Mereo BioPharma Group - for extraordinary progress in the development of products focused on rare and specialty disease areas


Best Established Biotech Company Award, Sponsored by Premier Research Winner:

Heptares Therapeutics, for their outstanding partnering deals, impressive product pipeline and industry leading technology


Best Start-up Medtech Company Award, Sponsored by JA Kemp Winner:

Precision Ocular, for making great progress in their strategy to develop novel therapeutics and drug delivery systems to treat retinal disease


Best Emerging Medtech Company Award, Sponsored by World Courier Winner:

Edinburgh Molecular Imaging, for the rapid discovery and clinical development of their optical imaging “SMART Agents”


Best Established Medtech Company Award, Sponsored by Arthur J Gallagher Winner:

Oxford Nanopore Technologies, for developing the world’s first and only nanopore DNA sequencer


Best Emerging UK Synthetic Biotech Company Award, Sponsored by SynbiCITE Winner:

Touchlight Genetics, for developing an innovative, in vitro dual enzyme process that produces DNA at commercial scale and quality


Best Implementation of Digital Healthcare Award, Sponsored by EY Winner:

Congenica, for its cloud-based technology that supports whole genome analysis from a single DNA test


Best UK Life Sciences Incubator Award, Sponsored by James Cowper Kreston Winner:

BioHub at Alderley Park, for running an excellent BioHub that has supported 188 companies and over 600 people resulting in 49 Virtual Companies and 10 Physical Companies


Highest Impact Investor Award, Sponsored by N+1 SINGER Winner:

Mercia Technologies, for focusing on the creation, funding and scaling of early stage, innovative technology businesses with high growth, global potential from the UK region


Best Public-Private Collaboration Award, Sponsored by Oxford AHSN Winner:

The Structural Genomics Consortium


Outstanding Achievement Award Winner:

Oxford Nanopore Technologies, for being extremely disruptive in their field and setting an excellent example to the industry


Special Recognition Award Winner:

Neil Woodford CBE, Founding Partner and Head of Investment, Woodford Investment Management


About the OBN Annual Awards –  The OBN Awards, now in their 8th year, celebrate innovation and achievement across the UK life sciences Industry. We are proud that the awards remain independent with categories that cover Biotech, Medtech, Synthetic Biology and Digital Health and recognise achievements from emerging to late stage R&D companies to large pharma and life sciences investors.

Independent Judging Panel

Dr Carolyn Porter - Deputy Head of Technology Transfer - Pharma and Biotech, Oxford University Innovation

Margarita Chavez - Senior Director, Venture Investments, AbbVie Biotech Ventures

Dr. Graeme Martin - President and CEO, Takeda Ventures

Dr. John Collins - Commercial Director, SynbiCITE

Dr. Jenny Laird - Vice-President, Search & Evaluation, Eli Lilly

Chris Winchester - Managing Director, Oxford PharmaGenesis

John Chaddock - VP Neurology and Site Head, Ipsen Bioinnovation

Dr. Jon Rees - Managing Director, Jon Rees Associates

Dr. John Harris – CEO, OBN

Neil Halliday – Associate Director of Sales, OBN